Investing on my own?

What shares, stocks etc can be invested in now? Can I do it on my own or do I need a financial advisor or stock broker?

Definitely not. The days of needing stock brokers are a thing of the past. There are so many platforms where you can buy and sell stocks with no fees.
If you are a total beginner and want to learn more, look in to the “dollar cost averaging” strategy, using index funds and ETFs to invest in the entire stick market rather than individual stocks.
There are also services like roboadviser where you get a personel “robot” financial advisor who advises you based on your specific needs.

What roboadvisor service would be a good one for a beginner to use?

I don’t really have much experience using them, but I’ve seen that wealthfront is free of charge through your first $5,000. I don’t know how much the others cost but just putting it out there.
Hope that helps.

Robinhood is free free free

Yah but robinhood isnt a roboadvisor…

2 Likes

Fayga was asking which roboadviser is the best. I do use robinhood though, and yah it’s totally free.

SoFi automated investing is free and requires almost zero setup. It will pick different index funds, ETFs, bonds, etc depending on the preferred risk / growth level you set. It also auto reinvests the dividends and can automatically invest a set amount from your bank account monthly.

2 Likes

Is robinhood easy to use?

Robinhood is very easy to use.

How do I know what stocks are worth investing in long term?

Great question. Your first step should be to educate yourself.

Learn to Invest with MyWallSt (Free)

With Learn by MyWallSt, you can access 40 investing lessons written by our expert investing team, giving you a clear path towards becoming an investor.