Invest now or wait?

Hi,

I’m a student with a few thousand dollars to invest. I won’t need the money for a while, I’m thinking 25 years. I just want to put my money in a safe passive mutual fund and let it sit for a while. If it grows an average of 8% year-over-year it will be worth over 60 thousand dollars by then.

My question is, is it smart of me to start investing today when stocks are expensive, or save up cash and wait for a crash when stocks are cheap, and start investing then?

Here’s my rational,

If a share today is worth $40 and it will grow for a few years even to $60. But then the market will crash and it will drop to $20 a share. I think it makes sense to buy at $20 later rather then now at $40. If that’s true why would anyone invest now, everyone should be saving money, and if it’s not true then why not?

The best time to start investing is always right now. Waiting around to try to time the market will only cause you to have “analysis paralasys” and you’ll likely miss every opportunity.

If you have some time and patience to learn about stocks and investing, definitely take some online courses so you will know what you’re doing in the future. Either way, you can start automated investing for free on Sofi and they will manage your index funds for you with no fees. I would appreciate if you use my link to sign up, which will give each of us a $50 bonus.

1 Like

If you want to go the route of stocks then you should consider low-cost Index funds instead of actively managed mutual funds. The small fees and taxes of mutual funds actually eat away a massive amount of your profits, especially over 25 years.

Now you can also try alternative investments like real estate that can give you a much higher return on investment upwards of 20% year over year.